mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help

»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 5
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 6383 times and has 4 replies Next Thread
Male etienne

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Hebrew Old Testament with Strongs Numbers

My name is Etienne Snyman, and I am a student of Theology, and for this reason I work with the Greek and Hebrew texts themselves. For this reason I do not want to look at the English text, and then work back to the Hebrew/Greek meaning of the word. Instead, I wish to work the Greek text (or Hebrew) and then click on a Strong's number if I get lost.

Unfortunately, at the moment there is only support for Stong's numbers in the Greek, and not in the Hebrew. For this reason, GnomeSword/Xhiphos is useless to me at the moment, and yet expensive programs such as Libronix do not help me at all, because I cannot afford them.

The Sword project is excellent, and I am a great supporter of it. I would love to use it for my academic work, but this inability to use the Old Testament Hebrew with any success is a big problem for me.

If I can help to solve this problem, I would gladly help.

Etienne
[Feb 21, 2009 5:00:10 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male etienne

Re: Hebrew Old Testament with Strongs Numbers

I found a site which has a Hebrew Old Testament with Strongs numbers:

http://www.thechan.com/component/option,com_d...cat_view/gid,28/Itemid,6/

It is a .zip file, which contains a .bbl file. I know that this is not a format that Xiphos can open, but can it be converted to a Sword Module? It is freely downloadable, so surely this is possible?